What's the Buzz?

In the Shadow of the Vampyre

vampyre

Join us for an Interactive Mystery Program for teens in 7-12th grades on Friday, April 19, 4:00 - 5:30 p.m.

The Comic Convention was supposed to be fun--so how did a woman end up dead?  Was it a terrible accident?  And..what about those bite marks on her neck?

You and your team will listen to suspects' statements, view the crime scene, and sift through evidence to figure out WHO did this terrible crime, WHY, and HOW.  The team that comes up with the most correct answers will win.  

Pizza will be served before the program begins.  Please register either online or at the Youth Services Desk. 

 

Tags: 

Teen Winter Reading Club Ending March 30!

Winter Reading Club

Turn in your reading logs for the Teen Winter Reading Club, Snow is Falling, Books are Calling, no later than Saturday, March 30, in order to be entered into our Grand Prize Drawing for an iPod Nano.  We will also draw names for a mystery book grab-bag, so be sure to get your log in now!

Tags: 

Books & Apps

Fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the History of the Universe (YA Saenz, Benjamin) will enjoy the Go SkyWatch Planetarium Guide for iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad or Google Sky Map for Android devices.  Both use GPS locators to generate a map of the sky with a guide to all the planets and stars, complete with interesting information.  It's the perfect app to take outside for some stargazing, just like Aristotle and Dante loved to do.

If you loved Across the Universe (YA Revis, Beth), explore the universe with Solar Walk for iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad; or try Solar Planets 3D for Android devices.  Both apps are tours of our solar system that allow users to zoom in on planets while learning the history of space exploration.  Who says you need a spaceship to navigate through space and time?

If games are more your style, there are plenty of apps perfect for fans of popular books.  Readers who can't get enough of vampires and zombies and loved The Immortal Rules (YA Kagawa, Julie) will enjoy Infect Them All: Vampires for iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad.  Beware: it's addictive.

If you can't find the perfect app to complement your favorite book, you can create your own with Yapp, which allows users to make apps for free without any coding or technical skills. 

Tags: 

Saturday, March 16, 2013

COMING THIS WEEK:  The last volume in the Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Princess, will be available this week.  Here's a quick preview: "Tessa Gray should be happy--aren't all brides happy?  Yet as she prepares for her wedding to Jem Carstairs, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.  A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to the Magister, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters.  He needs only one last item to complete his plan of destruction.  He needs Tessa."

This second series by Cassandra Clare follows her highly successful Mortal Instruments series (City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls).  City of Bones is being made into a movie with a scheduled release date of August 23, 2013.  Take a look at the trailer at www.cassandraclare.com.

Tags: 

Thursday, March 7, 2013

WANT TO WIN AN IPOD NANO?

Get your Winter Reading Club log to the Youth Services Desk by Saturday, March 30, in order to be entered into our Grand Prize Drawing for the iPod Nano.   We will also raffle a number of teen books.  You can STILL register for Snow is Falling, Books are Calling at the Youth Services Desk--but you only have about 3 weeks left!

We had a full house for our February FIT program: Chocolate Fondue and Hershey's Kisses Bingo. We have a couple of openings left for our DUCT TAPE program on Friday, March 15, so sign up now--either online or at the Youth Services Desk.  This program is for teens in Grades 7 through 12.

NEW BOOKS COMING SOON TO THE TEEN ZONE:

Requiem by Lauren Oliver, concludes the Delirium trilogy.

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare is the third and last book of the Infernal Devices trilogy.

 

 

 

Tags: 

Pages

Subscribe to What's the Buzz?