What's the Buzz?

The GREAT BOOK SCAVENGER HUNT: Starts August 1

Author Kay Cassidy is again offering the chance for you to win a $50 bookstore gift card by participating in her GREAT BOOK SCAVENGER HUNT!

Choose one of the titles from the brochures that we have in the Teen Zone.  Read the book, then print the trivia questions for that title from her website: www.kaycassidy.com/hunt.  

Answer the questions and bring the sheet to the Youth Services Desk.  If you correctly answer 8 out of 10 questions, we will enter your name into the monthly drawing. 

There are no start dates or deadlines in this program.  You can take as long as you want, read as many books as you want. Start the GREAT BOOK SCAVENGER HUNT  beginning August 1 and, when you turn in your answers, we’ll even give you a treat!   When the Kay Cassidy program is suspended in the fall, we will continue it year-round.

THIS PROGRAM IS FOR TEENS IN GRADES 7 THROUGH 12.

 

 

Tags: 

Teen Fiction for Fans of Graphic Novels and Comics

If you’re a fan of graphic novels and comics but want to branch out more into “regular” fiction, try some of these titles:

A Monster Calls: YA Ness, Patrick.  Features haunting illustrations of the dark fairy tale of a monster in search of the truth.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: YA Riggs, Ransom.  Includes eerie photos that make this story of an orphanage on a strange island jump off the pages.

The Leviathan Series: YA Westerfeld, Scott.  Westerfeld collaborated closely with the illustrator, Keith Thompson to bring the Clankers and the Darwinists to life.  Has a great “steampunky” feel .

Winger: YA Smith, Andrew.  Hilarious comics and funny graphs and charts break up the text and make this moving and laugh-out-loud story of a rugby player’s trials in friendship and love at boarding school all the more entertaining.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian: YA Alexie, Sherman.  Illustrations throughout the book enhance Alexie’s diary format.  Funny and entertaining.

Legacy: YA Sniegoski, Thomas.  Features superheroes and villains, to the delight of fans of comics and graphic novels.

 

Graphic Novels

Tags: 

Not too late--Join the Teen Summer Library Club: Have Book Will Travel

There's still time to join the Teen Summer Library Club (for teens in Grades 7 through 12).   We're in the middle of Week 4 and will continue through Saturday, July 27.   Upon registration, you will receive a luggage tag and a raffle ticket.  Complete a weekly activity and you spin the prize wheel for various coupons, candy, books, etc.  Raffle tickets will be drawn for prizes at our bingo party on Friday, July 26, 4:00 - 5:30 p.m.  Grand Prize:  Kindle Fire (you need to be at the party to win the Kindle, but we'll call you if your name is picked for other prizes).  

If you are reading something now, you can fill out a "boarding pass" which will be put into a weekly drawing for free books (we are picking 15 names/week!).

Don't wait--come on in and join HAVE BOOK WILL TRAVEL.

 

Tags: 

MINUTE TO WIN IT this Friday!

FITJoin us on FRIDAY, JUNE 21, for our Minute To Win It FIT program.  You and your team will have one minute to accomplish various tasks to earn points; the team with the most points at the end will end prizes!

Join us for pizza and snacks...sharpen your skills and get ready to compete--you'll have only one  MINUTE TO WIN IT!

This program is for teens going into 7th through 12th grades.  Register online or at the Youth Services Desk.

Tags: 

SUMMER LIBRARY CLUB STARTS TODAY!

The Summer Library Club for Teens, Have Book Will Travel, runs for 6 weeks:  Monday, June 17, through Saturday, July 27.  When you register for the Club, you’ll get a free luggage tag, a passport to record your visits, and a raffle ticket.  Each time you visit, you will complete an activity—and then spin our prize wheel!  Prizes include food coupons, book lights, flash drives, books, etc. 

Bring your passport to the desk once a week for at least 5 weeks and you’ll earn a free book of your choice.

We’ll have a bingo party to wrap up the Summer Library Club on Friday, July 26, 4:00 – 5:30 p.m., at which time we’ll draw raffle tickets for prizes—Grand Prize:  Kindle Fire.  You must be present to win the Fire; we will call winners of other prizes.  Register for the party online or at the Youth Services Desk.

This program is for teens going into 7th through 12th grade.

 

slc

Tags: 

Pages

Subscribe to What's the Buzz?