What's the Buzz?

Homework Help: Even if the library is closed, our databases are open!

homework help

You're writing a paper, it's 11:00 p.m. and there's no help in sight.  Check out our online databases to look up full-text poems, biographies, current topics, newspapers, opposing viewpoints, health information, and much, much more.  All you need is access to the internet and your library card.  Under "Teens," click on "Homework" which will take you to the link for the databases.  Enter your library card # for an individual database and you're in!  THESE ARE NOT WEBSITES, YOU CAN USE THEM FOR YOUR REPORTS.  

Tags: 

What's a QR Code (and why is it in the Teen Zone)??

A QR code is just another name for an updated type of barcode—but it’s faster and has greater storage capacity than traditional barcodes.

You see them all over magazines, especially with ads that, when scanned, link to products’ websites.  Look for signs in the Teen Zone that offer e-book and e-audiobook download help.  Scan the accompanying QR code with your phone and you’ll be linked to our “how-to” YouTube videos.  

QR code

The books that have been nominated for this year’s Teens’ Top Ten award are stickered with QR codes that link to YouTube book trailers. 

Summer’s not quite over yet—come on in and see what’s going on in the Teen Zone!

Tags: 

The GREAT BOOK SCAVENGER HUNT: Starts August 1

Author Kay Cassidy is again offering the chance for you to win a $50 bookstore gift card by participating in her GREAT BOOK SCAVENGER HUNT!

Choose one of the titles from the brochures that we have in the Teen Zone.  Read the book, then print the trivia questions for that title from her website: www.kaycassidy.com/hunt.  

Answer the questions and bring the sheet to the Youth Services Desk.  If you correctly answer 8 out of 10 questions, we will enter your name into the monthly drawing. 

There are no start dates or deadlines in this program.  You can take as long as you want, read as many books as you want. Start the GREAT BOOK SCAVENGER HUNT  beginning August 1 and, when you turn in your answers, we’ll even give you a treat!   When the Kay Cassidy program is suspended in the fall, we will continue it year-round.

THIS PROGRAM IS FOR TEENS IN GRADES 7 THROUGH 12.

 

 

Tags: 

Teen Fiction for Fans of Graphic Novels and Comics

If you’re a fan of graphic novels and comics but want to branch out more into “regular” fiction, try some of these titles:

A Monster Calls: YA Ness, Patrick.  Features haunting illustrations of the dark fairy tale of a monster in search of the truth.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: YA Riggs, Ransom.  Includes eerie photos that make this story of an orphanage on a strange island jump off the pages.

The Leviathan Series: YA Westerfeld, Scott.  Westerfeld collaborated closely with the illustrator, Keith Thompson to bring the Clankers and the Darwinists to life.  Has a great “steampunky” feel .

Winger: YA Smith, Andrew.  Hilarious comics and funny graphs and charts break up the text and make this moving and laugh-out-loud story of a rugby player’s trials in friendship and love at boarding school all the more entertaining.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian: YA Alexie, Sherman.  Illustrations throughout the book enhance Alexie’s diary format.  Funny and entertaining.

Legacy: YA Sniegoski, Thomas.  Features superheroes and villains, to the delight of fans of comics and graphic novels.

 

Graphic Novels

Tags: 

Not too late--Join the Teen Summer Library Club: Have Book Will Travel

There's still time to join the Teen Summer Library Club (for teens in Grades 7 through 12).   We're in the middle of Week 4 and will continue through Saturday, July 27.   Upon registration, you will receive a luggage tag and a raffle ticket.  Complete a weekly activity and you spin the prize wheel for various coupons, candy, books, etc.  Raffle tickets will be drawn for prizes at our bingo party on Friday, July 26, 4:00 - 5:30 p.m.  Grand Prize:  Kindle Fire (you need to be at the party to win the Kindle, but we'll call you if your name is picked for other prizes).  

If you are reading something now, you can fill out a "boarding pass" which will be put into a weekly drawing for free books (we are picking 15 names/week!).

Don't wait--come on in and join HAVE BOOK WILL TRAVEL.

 

Tags: 

Pages

Subscribe to What's the Buzz?