Teen Fiction for Fans of Graphic Novels and Comics

If you’re a fan of graphic novels and comics but want to branch out more into “regular” fiction, try some of these titles:

A Monster Calls: YA Ness, Patrick.  Features haunting illustrations of the dark fairy tale of a monster in search of the truth.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: YA Riggs, Ransom.  Includes eerie photos that make this story of an orphanage on a strange island jump off the pages.

The Leviathan Series: YA Westerfeld, Scott.  Westerfeld collaborated closely with the illustrator, Keith Thompson to bring the Clankers and the Darwinists to life.  Has a great “steampunky” feel .

Winger: YA Smith, Andrew.  Hilarious comics and funny graphs and charts break up the text and make this moving and laugh-out-loud story of a rugby player’s trials in friendship and love at boarding school all the more entertaining.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian: YA Alexie, Sherman.  Illustrations throughout the book enhance Alexie’s diary format.  Funny and entertaining.

Legacy: YA Sniegoski, Thomas.  Features superheroes and villains, to the delight of fans of comics and graphic novels.

 

Graphic Novels

Tags: